10 Things to do Instead of Scrolling Through Instagram

This article is a reminder to myself that there’s a lot more to life than content on an infinite scroll.

Rucha
3 min readJan 14, 2021

One of the things I want to work on this year is developing my voice. I’ve realized that I spend a lot of time consuming content from other people, and less time listening to myself or what piques my own interests. A lot of it has to do with the fact that I spend a lot of time on platforms like Instagram that curate content for me based on my interests. Apps like that keep my attention through consuming content and convince me that I am being “inspired” as I endlessly and mindlessly scroll.

Here are a couple of things that I want to try out this year that might help stimulate some creative energy. I find that some of my most creative moments don’t come through scrolling on the internet, but rather from conversations with people, or observations in my real life. Hopefully, some of these things might inspire you, or just help you fill some time, since life is pretty boring right now.

1. Interview someone.

I’ve wanted to do this for a while, but I think interviewing someone is an interesting way to keep your brain active and present in a moment. It’s also just cool to learn something new about someone you’ve known for a while.

2. Paint a nature scene from observation.

I might wait until it’s a bit warmer to do this but this sounds so fun. I’m not the best painter, but it’s one of my favorite art related activities.

3. Mend a piece of clothing.

There are a bunch of things in my wardrobe that need some fixing and I think learning how to fix them might be a good tool for the future. It’s another very mindful activity that sounds difficult but interesting.

4. Go for a swim.

The other day I realized that I haven’t been swimming in so long. I kinda miss it and would love to do it on a warmer day.

5. Write a short story based on a prompt.

I write a lot but none of it is fictional. I definitely need some guidance, so a prompt might be a fun way to get started on that.

6. Make a collage.

Another thing I haven’t done in quite a few months. I don’t know what it is about making a collage, but it is so incredibly fun and interactive. I almost always feel better after making a collage.

7. Go on an adventure walk.

I haven’t fully fleshed this one out but I’d love to go explore some new part of town that I’ve never been to. A lot of the walks I go on these days are in the same place and that can get repetitive from time to time.

8. Write down my dreams.

This is one of those things that I do sporadically, but dream journaling is so interesting. I don’t know if it is helpful in any way, but it’s always amusing to read after a few years.

9. Go stargazing.

I actually don’t think I’ve done this in years but this is one of my all time favorite activities. It’s cool to remind yourself from time to time how small you are in this big world.

10. Drive without a destination.

Now I usually wouldn’t be the biggest proponent of wasting gas on random activities, but this sounds so fun and I’ve always wanted to try it out. I’d probably get super lost and confused but it would be a cool adventure.

Let me know if you do any of these things, and I’ll let you guys know at the end of the year if I try any of these out!

--

--